Member Testimonials

"When I first entered the industry in 2003, I needed to get from zero to 60 in 10 seconds. SMPS delivered on the promise of offering me unique insights into AEC, helping me further develop my marketing and BD skills, and surrounding me with so many genuinely nice people. "
Terry Caywood, CPSM
The Sextant Group, Inc.

Committees

Below is a listing of SMPS Pittsburgh’s committees and contact information for the 2017-2018 Committees. If you are interested in becoming involved in one of the committees below, please don’t hesitate to contact those listed, as we’re always looking for more help!

Programs

The Programs Committee develops plans and produces all luncheon programs, which typically take place on the third Wednesday of each month.

Luncheon programs typically feature client panels or presentations with a goal of providing education and insight on topics relevant to the A/E/C industry and current market conditions, as well as invaluable networking opportunities.

Programs Chairs:

Jim Ambrose,  Desmone Architects
jambrose@desmone.com

Scott Vasko, Civil & Environmental Consultants
svasko@cecinc.com

Membership

The Membership Committee focuses on initiatives that support, sustain and grow the membership of the Pittsburgh Chapter. Activities include welcoming and orienting new members, planning new member orientation breakfasts and evening networking events, and collecting member statistics and feedback for the purpose of attracting and retaining members.

Membership Chairs:

Joy March, Plantscape
jmarch@plantscape.com

Janet Scarcelli, MBA, Triad Engineering
jscarcelli@triadeng.com

Education

The Education Committee plans and implements educational events, which include training/webinars, the CPSM Certification Study Group and Marketing MAYhem/Hammer Home More Business, SMPS Pittsburgh’s training conference for A/E/C professionals.

Education Chairs:

Matt Kaufman, CPSM, Atlantic Engineering Services
m.kaufman@aespj.com

Liz Gamelier, Trans Associates Engineering Consultants
gamelierl@transassociates.com

Communications

The Communications Committee creates awareness and promotes SMPS Pittsburgh through various communication efforts including the SMPS Pittsburgh website, blog, e-news and social media (Facebook, Twitter and LinkedIn).

Communications Chairs:

Taylor Pieper, Tower Engineering, Inc.
tpieper@estower.com

Melissa Caruso, HRV Conformance Verification Associates
mcaruso@hrvinc.com

The #AECs of Marketing

The #AECs of Marketing Committee plans and implements these Monthly SMPS educational breakfasts, which are typically held on the fourth Wednesday of each month from 8:30 until 10:00 a.m.

The #AECs of Marketing provides opportunities for entry-level marketers to learn more about marketing in the A/E/C industry, as well as helpful information for experienced marketers and business development specialists on a myriad of topics focusing on the six Domains of Practice (Market Research, Marketing Plan, Client and Business Development, SOQs/Proposals, Promotional Activity and Information, Resource and Organizational Management), as well as invaluable networking opportunities in a small group setting.

#AECs of Marketing Chairs:

Dennis Martinak, Mackin Engineering Company
dmartinak@mackinengineering.com

Bryant Garvin, Gateway Engineers
bgarvin@gatewayengineers.com

Special Events

The Special Events committee plans and implements evening networking events, including the SMPS Year End Bash for A/E/C professionals.

Special Events Chairs:

Apryle Davis, Markosky Engineering Group
adavis@markosky.com

Jennifer Kilgore, Singleton Construction, LLC
jenniferwkilgore@gmail.com

Sponsorship

The Sponsorship Committee generates sponsorships from organizations inside and outside of the industry. They also act as a concierge to sponsors, ensuring they take advantage of the sponsor benefits they receive throughout the year. If you are interested in sponsorship, please contact the Sponsorship Chairs below. For more information on sponsorship opportunities, please click here.

Sponsorship Chairs:

Michael Len, P.E., Wallace & Pancher, Inc.
mlen@wallacepancher.com

Katie Stern, A. Martini & Co
katie.stern@amartinigc.com